Windfall-Book Review(No Spoilers)

Author: Jennifer E. Smith

Series: A Novel

Genre: Contemporary

Rating: 2/5 Stars

Summary: “Alice doesn’t believe in luck—at least, not the good kind. But she does believe in love, and for some time now, she’s been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday—just when it seems they might be on the brink of something—she buys him a lottery ticket on a lark. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and in an instant, everything changes.

At first, it seems like a dream come true, especially since the two of them are no strangers to misfortune. As a kid, Alice won the worst kind of lottery possible when her parents died just over a year apart from each other. And Teddy’s father abandoned his family not long after that, leaving them to grapple with his gambling debts. Through it all, Teddy and Alice have leaned on each other. But now, as they negotiate the ripple effects of Teddy’s newfound wealth, a gulf opens between them. And soon, the money starts to feel like more of a curse than a windfall.

As they try to find their way back to each other, Alice learns more about herself than she ever could have imagined . . . and about the unexpected ways in which luck and love sometimes intersect.”-From Goodreads

 

Review: When I first gotten this book in mail as an ARC and read the back, I thought I was going to love it. I thought it was going to be good, but I was wrong.

While reading you can already guess what will happen with the relationships and what the ending will be. What I didn’t care for was how Teddy was acting towards Alice and how he acted when people were trying to help him out.

My favorite character was Alice. I could really connect with her and felt bad for what had happened in her past. I liked that she grew through out this book and made her own decisions, instead of having people influence them. I didn’t like how she treated a certain someone and should have just said how she felt in the first place. That was actually the only time I didn’t like her as much as I did before.

The reason for the 2 star rating instead of one has two reasons. Reason one is that I did like Alice and Leo.  I loved reading their dialogue, as well as getting to know what happened to them as the novel went. Reason two was how simple the writing was. It made reading this book go fast for me. Also that something I do like about contemporary books is that they are such a fast read and the writing is addictive and including simple.

If you like reading contemporary books, then maybe try out this one, or if you liked this other author’s books, then try out this one.

Leave a Reply

