The Hero’s Journey

This past semester I have been learning more and more about the hero’s journey and how important it is in stories.

Almost every story you read follows the hero’s journey.

If you don’t know what this is, then it can be broken down into 12 parts, which can all be found and explained in The Writer’s Journey: Mythic Structure for Writer’s by Christopher Volger.

  1. Ordinary World
  2. Call to Adventure
  3. Refusal of The Call
  4. Meeting the Mentor
  5. Crossing the Threshold
  6. Tests, Allies, Enemies
  7. Approach
  8. Central Ordeal
  9. Reward
  10. The Road Back
  11. Resurrection
  12. Return with Elixir

You could pick any book from your bookshelf and find this structure. Heck, you could even look at your own story and maybe find this structure.

If anything, this might be considered the back bone of a story with you just putting in the words of your story you had created.

Over each week or maybe every other day, I will be going into each of these twelve parts to give you more insight about them.

I also highly recommend for you to read The Writer’s Journey if you are as writer.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s